2010 New Mexico Music Award Winners

The 23rd Annual New Mexico Music Awards took place at the Marriott Pyramid North in Albuquerque on Sunday, May 23rd, 2010 and featured performances by La Junta, RIchard Martin, Joey Belville, The Ox Boys and Jacy Oliver. Guest presenters included Tom Frouge of Masterscape Inc, Allison Shaw of Watch Entertainment, Juan Velasco of 92.3 KRST, Brian Hardgroove of Public Enemy and Nancy Laflin, Executive Director of the New Mexico Music Commission.

The night also premiered the first of a series of films by director Thom Eberhardt (Without a Clue, Captain Ron) and Christine Vasquez (Naked Fear) on New Mexico music icons. The film featured songwriter Lewie Wickham, 2009 Lifetime Achievement recipient along with his brothers and members of the Wickham Brothers Trio.

Thanks to our sponsors Grandma’s Music & Sound and Quickbeam Systems.

The 2010 program fielded 507 entries in 39 categories from across New Mexico.

Eric Larson Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Tom “Mitch” Mitchell-Co founder of the New Mexico Music Industry Coalition

Tom Mitchell and Eric Larson, co-founders of the NM Music Awards (Formally NM MIC)

Tom “Mitch” Mitchell has had his hand in music for decades. He was a lover of the Doo-Wop style of music and has chronicled their history and the history of New Mexico groups on his website nmmitch.com for years. Mitch has also been a DJ, a music manager and even dabbled in writing a song or two.

In early 1987, he teamed with music producer Eric Larson looking for a way to break the logjam of isolation among studios and musicians. The goal was to showcase the talent of not only New Mexico musicians, but also the recording studios, producers and engineers who made the music happen. Until that time, studio owners isolated themselves not wanting to share tech secrets or studio musicians. The two came up with the idea of a competition where studios and musicians would showcase their music.

The two entrepreneurs enlisted the help of other music industry professionals and created the New Mexico Music Industry Coalition or New Mexico MIC and the “MIC” Awards was born. During the next two decades, the MIC Awards recognized and promoted New Mexico music helping to start a revolution in New Mexico music, attracting award winning artists to the state and helping to launch the careers of many national artists.

Mitch was an integral part of the NM MIC from 1987-1992. Eric Larson passed away in April of 2005.

The Eric Larson Endowment at UNM provides unrestricted funds for juniors or seniors who have chosen music or the recording arts as their major and have maintained a 3.0 GPA. Eric Larson was co-founder of the New Mexico Music awards and passed away in 2005. The New Mexico Music Awards contributes annually to the scholarship fund. To donate, go to ericlarsonendowment.com

Adult R & B

Cathryn McGill and John Rangel
John Rangel & Larry Mitchell-Producers
Studio H-Santa Fe


Blessed Christine
Todd Eric Lovato, Cali Soberanes
Todd Eric Lovato-Producer
Stepbridge Studios-Santa Fe


Seen My Baby
CW Ayon – One Man Band
Cooper Ayon-Producer
Image Recording Studio-Las Cruces


Raspberry Pie
Richard Martin & Glenn Martin
Richard Martin-Producer
Grace Mountain Music Studios-Rio Rancho


Perfect Dream
Jeanette Clark
Larry Mitchell-Producer
Insatiable Studios-Santa Fe


Joey Belville & Chrissy Jeter
Joey Belville-Producer
The Echoing Green-Albuquerque

Hip Hop

One Groove
Lost Lingo, Flux & Ryan Montano
Lost Lingo & Chris Sumruld-Producers
Manny Dog Records/Sanctuary Sound-Albuquerque


Compartiendo Bendiciones
Floyd Lujan
Floyd Lujan-Producer
Gold Standard-Taos


Hay Viene
La Junta
Nicholas R. Pena & La Junta-Producers
Feel Good Music-Santa Fe


Sweet Thing
Jan McDonald
Bert Dalton & Jon Gagan-Producers
Electric Company-Santa Fe

Native American-Contemporary

This America
Joy Harjo
Larry Mitchell-Producer
Insatiable Studios-Santa Fe

New Age Contemporary

Chaco Moon Meditation
Randy Granger
Randy Granger-Producer
Home recording


Sheep Of Love
Max Highstein
Max Highstein-Producer
Desert Heat Multimedia-Santa Fe


I Do
Michael Junchaya
Donn Halliburton-Producer
On Fire Productions-Albuquerque


Candy Drops
Twllin & ID. Labs-Producers
Tu-Tone Records-Espanola


Stained in Blood
Curran & Evans
Chet Evans-Producer
Up Studio-Albuquerque

Rock-Adult Contemporary

For The Birds
Good As Dead
John Wall
Wall of Sound Studios-Albuquerque


They Have Eyes
Joey Belville-Producer
No studio listed


Plains of San Augusta
Before This City
Before This City & John Wall-Producers
Wall of Sound Studios-Albuquerque


The Values of Impermanence
Jacy Oliver
Jacy Oliver-Producer 
Home recording


Spy Vs Spy
Vertigo Venus
Joey Belville-Producer
The Echoing Green Studios-Albuquerque


Stay In The Saddle
Sons of The Rio Grande
Walen Mickey-Producer
Radio Logic Studio

World Beat

To Ride A Red Horse
Max Highstein
Max Highstein-Producer
Desert Heat Multimedia-Santa Fe

Best Arrangement of an Original Composition

Urban Solution
David Phillips and Fred Spencer
David Phillips & Fred Spencer-Producers
Santa Fe Center-Albuquerque

Best Recording Engineer

Joey Belville
Shawn Honsberger-Symphony
The Echoing Green-Albuquerque

Best Instrumental Performance

Michael Anthony Trio
Lone Guitar Publishing-Producers
Mountain Road Recording-Albuquerque

Best Cover

Straight Up
Le Chat Lunatique
Le Chat Lunatique-Producers
Heartbreak Hotel Studio

Best Song

Don Conoscenti-Composer
Don Conoscenti-Producer
Red Rock Acoustics-El Prado

Best Vocal Performance

What Is This Thing Called Love?
John Proulx w/ Cal Haines Trio
John Rangel-Producer
Santa Fe Soundworks-Santa Fe

Best Artist’s Website

Fingerprint Warehouse

Best Packaging Design

Willy Magee & Kito Peters
Kito Peters-High Road

Best Pop CD

Lines Divide
The Breaktone
Julian, Geoff, Rob, Jarvis, Peter-Producers
Manny Dog Records-Albuquerque

Best Rock CD

Chris Kill
Chris Kill
Chris Kill & Dana Sampson
Third Eye Studios-Tijeras

Best Country CD

For Sure
Justin Ray Jackson
J Cain, JR Jackson & G Lee-Producers
Home recording

Best Producer

John Wall
Good As Dead- Learn To Swim
Wall of Sound Studios-Albuquerque

Best of the Year

J. Mee, S. Blankenship, C.Berry, R. Chavez
Good As Dead- Learn to Swim
John Wall-Producer
Wall of Sound Studios-Albuquerque