2016 New Mexico Music Awards Winners

The 29th Annual New Mexico Music Awards took place on June 16th, 2016, a month later than usual because of a problem with the preliminary judging process. Rather than move forward with the program as scheduled, it only seemed fair to halt the judging process and begin again in order to assure a fair process.

The event took place at the Embassy Suites and Spa in Albuquerque and featured performances from Connie Long & Fast Patsy, The Joseph General Band, Levi Platero, Drastic Andrew and the Latin band Nosotros.

Photography by Alan Winston of Winston Foto. Thanks to our sponsors Grandma’s Music & Sound, Quickbeam Systems, listen!ABQ, High Fidelity Mastering, Moonlight Talent Management and the Albuquerque Film & Music Experience.

The 2016 NMMAs fielded 695 entries in 42 categories.

Eric Larson Lifetime Achievement Recipient-Nick Luchetti

Nick Luchetti started drum lessons at 12 years old and played in Junior High and High School Bands.  At 16 he moved on to trumpet and piano, joined the U.S. Air Force at 20 and later attended the University of New Mexico and Santa Monica City College, eventually graduating from UCLA in 1960. He returned to New Mexico and worked a second job playing six nights a week with Chick Singer and the Paul Muench Quartet.  He began teaching drums and played for some traveling shows, such as Mel Torme, Tennessee Ernie Ford, and Bob Hope. In 1965 he opened Luchetti Music Store, Later Luchetti Drum & Guitar in Albuquerque where he treated his customers like the talented people they were, always willing to loan a piece of equipment, give his opinion or share a tip or technique. Nick introduced Latin percussion instruments to Albuquerque and helped create a whole new dynamic in New Mexico music. Luchetti’s closed in September 2001. Nick’s students include Jay Shellen of Badfinger and rock icon Randy Castillo who went on to play for Ozzy Osborne and Motle Crue. He still teaches and still plays with the likes of Bob Brown, Arlen Asher and many more.

The Eric Larson Endowment at UNM provides unrestricted funds for juniors or seniors who have chosen music or the recording arts as their major and have maintained a 3.0 GPA. Eric Larson was co-founder of the New Mexico Music awards and passed away in 2005. The New Mexico Music Awards contributes annually to the scholarship fund. To donate, go to ericlarsonendowment.com

The finalists are listed in the following order unless otherwise noted:




Studio / City

Listed in the order in which they were presented.

Adult Contemporary

Cali Shaw

Hold On To You

Cali Shaw

Elephonic Studios / Albuquerque


Indigie Femme

You Taught Me To Love

Larry Mitchell

Indigenous Solutions Inc. Studios / Santa Fe


Levi Platero

Take Me Back

Levi Platero and Lee Padilla

Sanctuary Sounds / Albuquerque


The Lost Howlin’ Coyotes

Morgan Jones

Lee Padilla & Tony Mora

Sanctuary Sound Studio / Albuquerque

Children’s Music

Diana D. James

Paint The World Anew

Diana D. James & Lisa Carmen

The Palace Studio / Santa Fe


Joe Mark Angelo & Hard Livin’

Where To Go From Here

Archie Maestas & Eddie Garcia

ATM Recording Studio / Hernandez


Michael Rogel


Michael Rogel

Home Studio / Corrales


Paul Kelly

I Am Here For You

Paul Kelly

Santa Fe Soundworks / Santa Fe


skye – Tawanika Skye

The Art of Expression

T-Nyse – Tony Minter

the Workshop / Albuquerque

Indie Rock

Kid Dinosaur

Meeting Monsters

John Wall

Wall of Sound / Albuquerque


Kodama Trio

Milepost 22

Jeremy Bliech, Robert Muller & Mitlton Villarubia

Grasshopper Music / Santa Fe




Dennis Javier Jasso & Nosotros

Fw Studios / Santa Fe


Countdown To Overkill


Adrian Clay

Man O War Studios / Albuquerque

Modern Rock

Andrew MacLauchlan

Plunder Away

Ben Wright

Frogville Studios / Santa Fe

Native American

Bébé La La, Alicia Ultan & Maryse Lapierre ft. Oatzinu She’e’lake’e


Bébé La La & John Wall

Wall of Sound / Albuquerque

New Age Cotemporary

Jim Oliver

Galactic Soul

Jim Oliver

Oliver Music Studio / Santa Fe

Novelty / Humorous

Don Shearer

I’m Flotsam

Don Shearer

Fat Blob Productions / Rio Rancho


Entangled Dreams


John Wall

Wall of Sound / Albuquerque


Robyn Christina

Out of This World

David Madik Lucero

Madik Innovation / Albuquerque


Red Coalescence

Your Every Move

David Madik Lucero

Madik Innovation / Albuquerque


Joseph General

Burn Through the Lies

Gilbert Uribe & Joseph General

Soulcialite Productions / Albuquerque

Religious / Gospel

Jay, Ellie, Michael – American Jem

Anthem of Joy

Jay Cawley

Smilin’ Fish Studio / Santa Fe

Singer / Songwriter

Bébé La La, Alicia Ultan & Maryse Lapierre

Sister Sister

Bébé La La & John Wall

Wall of Sound / Albuquerque


Gary Paul Hermus

Santa Fe Trail (Kit Carson’s Last Ride)

Lisa Carman, Gary Paul Hermus

The Palace Studio / Santa Fe




Kilko “Paz” Rivera & Baracutanga

Wall of Sound & Third Eye Studios

Albuquerque & Tijeras

Best Arrangement Original

Daniel Ward


Daniel Ward

Third Eye Studio / Tijeras

Best Cover

David Kuncicky

Walk of Life

David Kuncicky

La Barberia Studios / Santa Fe

Best Instrumental

Entourage Jazz

Waltz for Geraldus

Emerson Susan Corley, Roger Baker

Eagle Rock Studios / Albuquerque

Best Mastering Engineer

Dominick Maita



The Studio on The Hill / Santa Fe

Best Recording Engineer

Roger Baker


Entourage Jazz

Things Are Looking Up

Eagle Rock Studios/Albuquerque

Best Song

Don Conoscenti


What Else Could I Do?

Best Vocal Performance

Holy Water And Whiskey

Night Hymn

John Wall

Wall of Sound / Albuquerque

Best Video

Andrew MacLauchlan

Drastic Andrew

Alien Creature

Video: Craig Hanke

Best Packaging Design

Luke Dorman and David Berkeley

Cardboard Boat

David Berkeley

Best Country CD

Connie Long & Fast Patsy

Hello There

Connie D. Long

Sarah’s Old Room Studio / Santa Fe

Best Hip-Hop CD

Coolio Da’unda’dogg

The Ghosts of the Hustlers Past

Dobh Graystone

Pushin’ Dope Productions

Best Jazz CD

Kodama Trio

Kodama Trio

Jeremy Bliech, Robert Muller & Mitlton Villarubia

Grasshopper Music / Santa Fe

Best Pop CD

Entangled Dreams

In Color

John Wall

Wall of Sound / Albuquerque

Best Rap CD

Kabby & Brother Justice Whitaker

Grounded EP:A

Matthew Kabakoff

Kabby Sound / Santa Fe

Best Rock CD

Drastic Andrew

Live Without Warning

Ben Wright

Frogville Studios / Santa Fe

Norman Petty Producer’s Award

Dennis Javier Jasso & Nosotros


En El Más Allá

Fw Studios / Santa Fe

Best of the Year

Drastic Andrew

Live Without Warning

Ben Wright

Frogville Studios / Santa Fe