2012 New Mexico Music Award Winners

The 25th Annual New Mexico Music Awards was held on Sunday, May 12th, 2012 at the Hard Rock Resort & Casino in Albuquerque and featured performances by Indigie Femme, Kito Peters, Siyeric, Anthony Leon & the Chain and hONEyhoUSe. Hayley Baysinger was presented with a scholarship from the Eric Larson Endowment. Hayley is a producer and audio engineer in Albuquerque who was attending UNM. We had guest presenters Mel Minter from Albuquerque the Magazine, Kristine Carlyle from 92.3 KRST FM and Tom Frouge of Avakado Artists.

Also in 2012, the Norman and Vi Petty estate in Clovis, New Mexico gave the NMMA permission to re-name the Best Producer Awards as the Norman Petty Producer’s Award. Norman Petty and his wife Vi were pioneers in early rock, recording and producing a young Buddy Holly, Roy Orbison, Chuck Knox and many other artists who went on to national and international prominence.

Thanks to our sponsors, Grandma’s Music & Sound, Quickbeam Systems, Sennheiser Audio and High Fidelity Mastering.

Eric Larson Lifetime Achievement Recipient -Tom Rutherford

Photo credit: Susan Ruiz

Pioneering New Mexico on air personality and politico Tom Rutherford had been our Master of Ceremony since the very first NM MIC Awards show in 1988. Tom had been asked to MC for the NMMIC to lend an air of respectability to the program. Without hesitation, he accepted. Dressed in a snazzy white tux each year, Tom brought class and organization to the program. Tom volunteered every year and brought all of his wit and energy to each and every show.

Tom served for 24 years as a State Senator in the New Mexico Legislature and was the majority floor leader when he retired in 1996. He was subsequently elected to the Bernalillo County Commission where he served for 8 years. He is a co-founder of the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta and a 1982 graduate of the University of New Mexico Law School. Tom’s practice has always included a heavy emphasis on administrative law and governmental affairs and he was retained as General Counsel for the National Fraternal Order of Police for 6 years. In 1997 he founded The Rutherford Group, a separate entity, and began to represent local, national, and international corporations and groups before the legislature.

The Eric Larson Endowment at UNM provides unrestricted funds for juniors or seniors who have chosen music or the recording arts as their major and have maintained a 3.0 GPA. Eric Larson was co-founder of the New Mexico Music awards and passed away in 2005. The New Mexico Music Awards contributes annually to the scholarship fund. To donate, go to ericlarsonendowment.com

Winners are listed in the following order unless otherwise indicated for specialty categories.





 Adult R&B

Only If You Want It

Jo Amber & David Wade

Simes Carter

The Beat Depo

Adult Contemporary

 The Sound of Trees

Good As Dead

John Wall

Wall of Sound


Heaven (Devil In The Details)

The Echoing Green

Joey Belville

The Echoing Green


Same Sun and Moon

Lisa Carman

Lisa Carman & Kevin Zoernig

The Kitchen Sink


 Sleepless Nights

Tiho Dimitrov

Tiho Dimitrov & Rob Heineman

Dos Lunas Studios


Time and Money

Richard and Glenn Martin

Richard and Glenn Martin

Eagle Rock

Children’s Music


Lydia Clark

Lydia Clark

Andrew Click Productions


You Don’t Know Country

Gabriel Lucero & Jim Sales

Jim Sales

Green Chili Records


Bedtime Stories


Jeffrey Mettling



Crowded Room

Breaking Blue

Jonathan Anderson

JD Sez Recording

Hip Hop

 Epic Triumph


Delta 9

Delta 9 Studios

 Hispanic Contemporary




Fingerprint Warehouse



Michael Glynn

Dave Weininger & John Rangel

Free2Earth Music

Mainstream Rock

Rough Around The Edges

The Rudy Boy Experiment

Rudy Jaramillo

Eagle Rock


 Ashes Fall

Stellar By Night

Brandon Ruckus & Shane McConnell

Rockshack Music

Native American-Traditional

 Beautiful Road

Indigie Femme

Larry Mitchell

Insatable Studio

 Native American-Contemporary

Plains Rider

Rushingwind & Mucklow

Michael Mucklow

Harmony Road

New Age Contemporary

Snake I’s

Kathleen Sabo

Kathleen Sabo

Voice and Verse


 Tonight, Tonight (Burrito Guy)

The Hater Haters Band

Russell Scharf

Canyon Road Studio


Songs For You

The Bus Tapes

Jeff Nelson



She Always Never Sometimes Says

Hazy Dean

Brian Widger

Blackness is My Home


 Sunset Love

Madd City featuring Dominic Munoz

Justin Cole


Not Going Back

J Dubb Feat. Russell Scarlett




Fall Roundup

Richard and Glenn Martin

Richard and Glenn Martin

Eagle Rock

World Beat

O Meo Coracao

Brazil Project

Bert Dalton


Best Arrangement

It’s All Good

John Rangel

Arrangement by:

John Rangel

Best Artist’s Website

Thomas Taylor



 Best Cover


Brazil Project

Bert Dalton


 Best Instrumental Performance

A Sea Castle In The City of Clouds

Thought – Jacy Oliver & Ben Durfee

Jacy Oliver

Oliver Music Studio

Best Mastering Engineer

Andy Rogulich


Kookie Jones

 Best Packaging

 Liz Painter & Heather Sparrow


Liz Painter- What if?

Best Recording Engineer

 Roger Baker


I’ll Be there For You

Best Song

  Tarnished Chrome

Kito Peters

Best Video

Can’t Have My Love

Jo Amber & V6M

Vizion House Productions

Best Vocal Performance

An Olive Tree

Barbara Bentree

Best Jazz CD

Tribute Trio – Dedications Volume I

Tribute Trio

Free2Earth Music

Best Pop CD

 Lumpy – Life, Man

Bryan Highhill – Lumpy

Bryan Highhill

Home recording

Best Rock CD

 Safe Harbor

Good As Dead

John Wall

Wall of Sound

Norman Petty Producer’s Award

 John Rangel


Barbara Bentree


Turtle Creek Media

Best of the Year



John Wall & hONEyhoUSe

Wall of Sound