1991 New Mexico Music Industry Coalition Winners

The 4th Annual New Mexico Music Industry Coalition Awards or “MIC” Awards were presented on Saturday, April 27th 1991 at the Ramada Classic Hotel in Albuquerque for music recorded and produced in 1990. State Senator Tom Rutherford was the evening’s master of ceremonies.

Guest presenters for the evening included jazz great Herbie Mann, LA session guitarist Tim Pierce, KUNM’s Mr Hot Lix, Charlie Z, Dave Scott of KOOL 102 FM, Armida Santa Cruz and Dwight Loop of KABC FM in Santa Fe, Lawrence Dominguez and Mark Andrews of the band the Strawbwerry Zotz, Don Christi of 92.3 KRST FM, TJ Trout from KZRR 94 Rock, Albuquerque Arts Editor for the AlbuquerqueVoicel Kate Bennett, Scott Zahoric of KOAT TV, Bob Bottomly and John Hoffis of public access TV 27 and Jane Metzler from KOB TV.

The MIC Awards fielded nearly 300 entries in 31 categories. A number of entries were combined like Pop and AC, Soul, Funk and Rap while other categories were split. Hispanic was split into Contemporary Spanish and Hispanic/Traditional.

Awards are listed as follows except where otherwise indicated:


Artist and title

Best Arrangement

Daryl Piper and Tim Brown

Redneck – I May Not Always Remember

Best Jingle – Advertising

Eric Larson and Wayne Scheiner

Wild Oats

Best Live Recording

Phil Appelbaum Dan Dowling

Rhoads Dowling Quartet – Dance on a Whim

Best Promotional Concept

Peter Gonzales, Mike Nagro and Gordon Devore

Southwest Edge

Best Remake

Lucious Music

Roark and Lyra Barron – Amazing Grace

Best Soundtrack

Kevin Hughes, John Cline, Phil Appelbaum

Penquin Foods Inc. Quality and Confidence

Alternative Modern Rock

Danny Wilding

Danny Wilding – Visions of Africa


Chris Nolan

Chris Nolan – Homage to Bela Bartok

Contemporary Spanish

Amigas y su Grupo Ritmo

Amigas y su Grupo Ritmo – Esa Miranda Coqueta


Daryl Piper, Tim Brown and Eric Larson

Redneck – Caring Less and Less

Dramatic Score

Steve Herrera

Steve Herrera – Dramatized New Testament – The Story


Stephen R. Markham

Stephen R. Markham – Prelude to Apocalypse


Linda Collier, Connie Harrington, Sandi Gonzales and Rita Talbot

Leaves of Late October

Gospel / Traditional Christian

Steve Herrera

Steve Herrera – You Cry For Love

Hispanic – Traditional

Ramon Bermudez Jr.

Ramon Bermudez Jr – Dolores del Sagrado Corazon

Jazz (tie)

Chuck Coulter and Phil Appelbaum

Alma – Rowlz’m Skowlz’m


Pat Rhodes and Phil Appelbaum

Rhodes Dowling Quartet-Travieso


One Way

One Way – Little Love

New Age


Euphoria – Souvenirs of the Heart

Novelty / Humorous


Skumbag – They Call Her Gonk (but her real name was Nadine)

Pop / Adult Contemporary

Busy McCarroll, Jeff Nelson and Baird Banner

The Motion – Three Little Words

R&B / Blues

Ronnie Gene Bryant and Kenneth Reid

Keep On Searching

Rock & Roll

Fritz Richard

Fritz Richard – It’s Time


Jacquelyn Holmes

Jacquelyn Holmes – Bad Boy

Soul / Funk / Rap

Ronnie Gene Bryant and Kenneth Reid

Move To The Groove

Overall Single

Daryl Piper, Tom Mitchell and Eric Larson

Redneck – Emerald Green Eyes

Best Song

Tim Brown and Daryl Piper

Redneck – I May Not Always Remember

Best Engineer

John Cline

Come To Me

Best Conceptual Music Video

John Cline, Steve O’Neil, George Welch, Phil Appelbaum, Jeffry Cline

Steve O’Neil

Best Single of the Year

Michelle Dawn and Brian Miller

Michelle Dawn

Best Producer-Single Length

Tom Mitchell – Daryl Piper – Eric Larson

Emerald Green Eyes

Best Producer – Album Length

Tom Mitchell – Daryl Piper – Eric Larson

Jukebox Moanin

Best CD

Redneck The Band

Jukebox Moanin